

The 22nd Nagoya Medal of Organic Chemistry



January 27, 2017 (Noyori Conference Hall, Nagoya University)

The Nagoya Gold Medal has been awarded every year since 1995 to an organic chemist who has made significant original contributions to the field, in its broadest sense. The Silver Medal has been awarded since 1999 to a rising scientist based in Japan whose research has had a major impact on the field of synthetic organic chemistry. The recipients of this year's Gold and Silver Medals will deliver the Nagoya Medal Lectures on January 27, 2017 at Nagoya University in Nagoya, Japan.

Previous RECIPIENTS

Gold Medal Lecturer



- 1. "Palladium-Catalyzed Carbon-Heteroatom Bond-Forming Reactions"
- 2. "Copper-Catalyzed Asymmetric Hydrofunctionalization Processes in Organic Synthesis"

Professor Stephen L. Buchwald was born in 1955 at Bloomington, Indiana, USA. He received his Sc.B. in 1977 from Brown University and his Ph.D. degree in 1982 from Harvard University, under the supervision of Professor Jeremy R. Knowles. He then moved to Caltech to conduct his postdoctoral research with Professor Robert H. Grubbs. After being promoted to an Assistant Professor (1984), Associate Professor (1989) and Professor (1993) at MIT, he was named the Camille Dreyfus

Professor in 1997. He became Associate Head in 2015. His research focuses on the development of new carbon-heteroatom bond forming reactions as well as new continuous flow processes. Representative awards and honors: Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2000), MERIT award from the National Institutes of Health (2000), ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry (2006), Member of the National Academy of Science (2008), Gustavus J. Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest (2010), ACS Arthur C. Cope Award (2013), Linus Pauling Medal Award (2014), and BBVA Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Basic Sciences (2014).

Silver Medal Lecturer



"Ligand Design for Eifficient Organic Synthesis"

Professor Masaya Sawamura was born in 1961 at Kochi,
Japan. He received his B.Eng. in 1984 and his Ph.D. degree in
1989 from Kyoto University under the supervision of Professor
Yoshihiko Ito. He became an Assistant Professor at Kyoto
University in 1989 and spent a year as a researcher at Harvard
University working with Professor Stuart L. Schreiber
(1993-1994). He then moved to the Tokyo Institute of
Technology and to the University of Tokyo as an Assistant
Professor (1995), and was promoted to a Lecturer (1996) and
an Associate Professor (1997). He is a Professor at Hokkaido
University since 2001 and was granted the title of the Hokkaido University Distinguished

Previous RECIPIENTS Gold Medal Lecturers 1995 Yoshito Kishi 1996 W. Clark Still Robert H. Grubbs 1997 1998 Henri B. Kagan 1999 Samuel J. Danishefsky 2000 Manfred T. Reetz 2001 Kyriacos C. Nicolaou 2002 Dieter Seebach 2003 David A. Evans 2004 J. Fraser Stoddart 2005 Koji Nakanishi 2006 Steven V. Ley Larry E. Overman 2007 2008 Barry M. Trost 2009 Jean M. J. Fréchet Eric N. Jacobsen 2011 2012 Paul Knochel Ben L. Feringa 2013 2014 John F. Hartwig 2015 Stuart L. Schreiber Silver Medal Lecturers 1999 Keisuke Suzuki 2000 Takuzo Aida 2001 Eiichi Nakamura 2002 Shu Kobayashi 2003 Makoto Fujita 2004 Keiii Maruoka 2005 Michinori Suginome 2006 Jun-ichi Yoshida 2007 Mikiko Sodeoka 2008 Masahiro Murakami 2009 Kvoko Nozaki 2011 Keiji Tanino 2012 Takahiko Akiyama Masahiro Terada 2013 Naoto Chatani 2014 Itaru Hamachi 2015 Zhaomin Hou Nagoya Medal Special Award Her Royal Highness Princess Chulabhorn Mahidol 2010 Anniversary Seminar Ryoji Noyori, Hisashi Yamamoto, Silver Medalists

Professor in 2016. His research focuses on organic synthesis and organometallic chemistry. Representative awards and honors: The Chemical Society of Japan Award for Young Scientists (1996), The Chemical Society of Japan Award for Creative Work (2012), Hokkaido University President Award for Outstanding Research (2014), and the SSOCJ (The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan) Nissan Chemical Industries Award for Novel Reaction & Method (2014).

President: Hisashi Yamamoto, Honorary President: Ryoji Noyori, Advisors: Minoru Isobe, Kunio Suzuki

Organizing Committee: K. Ishihara, K. İtami, Y. Uozumi, T. Ooi, M. Kitamura,

N. Shibata, H. Shinokubo, T. Nishikawa, H. Nishiyama, T. Higuchi, T. Fukuyama,

Y. Mori, E. Yashima, S. Yamaguchi

Financial Support: MSD Life Science Foundation

Cosponsored by: Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules (ITbM), Nagoya University

Chairman: Kenichiro Itami, Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules (ITbM), Nagoya University, Chikusa, Nagoya 464-8601, Japan. Phone/FAX +81-52-788-6098; E-mail itami@chem.nagoya-u.ac.jp URL: http://www.msd-life-science-foundation.or.jp/banyu_symp/nagoya