

## The Nagoya Medal of Organic Chemistry



The Nagoya Medal Award was initially proposed by Professor Hisashi Yamamoto and Professor Ryoji Noyori, and founded in 1995 with Professor Noyori as the president through the financial support of the MSD Life Science Foundation (Banyu). The Nagoya Gold Medal has been awarded every year to an organic chemist who has made significant original contributions to the field in its broadest sense. The first medal was presented to Professor Yoshito Kishi, and many eminent scientists have come to give lectures, including recipients of the Goto Memorial Lectureship started earlier. The Silver Medal, established in 1999, has been awarded every year to a front-runner based in Japan, whose research has a major impact on the field of synthetic organic chemistry. The medals are designed in the shape of a sword guard, an idea proposed by Professors Yamamoto and Noyori. The flowers on the surface are lilies, which are the city flower of Nagoya City, and have the meaning of "a kind heart and competitiveness". At the award lectures, the recipients are asked to talk not only about the profundity of their unique chemistry, but also the in-depth philosophy behind it, encouraging young chemists and students. This year, the Gold Medal will be presented to **Professor E. W. "Bert" Meijer** (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands), and the Silver Medal will be presented to **Professor Hiroaki Suga** (The University of Tokyo, Japan).

					, ,
	Gol	d Meda	l Recip	oients	
1995	1996	1997	1998	1999	2000
R		6	2	6	
	TY-				1
Yoshito Kishi	W. Clark Still	Robert H. Grubbs	Henri B.	Samuel J. Danishefsky	Manfred T. Reetz
2001	2002	2003	Kagan 2004	2005	2006
		P-			<b>G</b>
Kyriacos C. Nicolaou	Dieter Seebach	David A. Evans	J. Fraser Stoddart	Koji Nakanishi	Steven V. Ley
2007	2008	2009	2011	2012	2013
					20
Larry E. Overman	Barry M. Trost	Jean M. J. Fréchet	Eric N. Jacobsen	Paul Knochel	Ben L. Feringa
2014	2015	2016	2017		U
.20	Æ	E	()		
John F. Hartwig	Stuart L. Schreiber	Stephen L. Buchwald	E.W. "Bert" Meijer		
U	Goto N	Memori	ial Lect	ureship	
1992	1993	1994	1995	1997	1999
Derek	Albert	<b>E. J.</b>	Gilbert	Jean M.	Vashite
Barton	Eschenmoser		Gilbert Stork	Jean M. Lehn	Yoshito Kishi
Financial	llw anna	antad by	MODI	fa Sajana	Eoundat

**Financially supported by**: MSD Life Science Foundation **Cosponsored by**: Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules (ITbM), Nagoya University.

**Chairman**: Kenichiro Itami, Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules (ITbM), Nagoya University, Furo-cho, Chikusa-ku, Nagoya 464-8601, Japan. Tel/Fax: +81-(0)52-788-6098 E-mail: nagoya-medal@itbm.nagoya-u.ac.jp URL: http://www.msd-life-science-foundation.or.jp/symp/nagoya/nagoya\_prog2017.html